Best TV marriages

TV: Where relationships go to suffer. It’s a cardinal rule of television that happy, functional couples have greater show-killing capacity than Paula Marshall. But every once and while a realistic depiction of marriage sneaks past, usually in the oddest of places. Here are a few of my favorite (current) small screen couplings:

Allison and Joe Dubois (Medium): Smack in the middle of all that ghost-talking, corpse-of-the-week fun is probably the most realistic, happy marriage on television today. Sure, maybe it’s a little weird that Joe doubts his wife’s uncanny abilities almost every week, despite the fact that she is always vindicated. But you know what? I buy it. My husband continues to doubt my thoroughly-proven ability to estimate the grocery bill tally. Joe and Allison support each other, nag each other, kiss and make up, all the while showing that in real homes we have to do things like the dishes.  I challenge anyone to find a more realistic depiction of family life on TV (minus the ghost chats, of course).

Adam and Kristina Braverman (Parenthood): In its slim first season, the show didn’t go as far as I’d like in showing us any of the relationships. But there’s no doubt that Adam and Kristina’s marriage is already more believable than 99% of those on TV (and a heck of a lot more so than Julia and Joel on the same show; Saint Joel appears to have stepped directly out of the daydreams of every working mom). I loved the episode that addressed Kristina’s feelings about the possibility of returning to work. It didn’t make the answers easy and trite, and that’s a real compliment for any TV show. So far, this couple is able to disagree and have conflict while still seeming thoroughly secure. Let’s hope they keep it up, and go further, next season.

Mitchell and Cameron (Modern Family): While some of the couplings on this show strain reality for the sake of humor (I know no one as ridiculous as Phil; and I’ll swallow an elephant before I believe Sophia Vergaro would marry Al Bundy), I find Mitchell and Cameron’s exasperating differences the stuff of real life comedy. Just take the episode about CIO parenting. I’ve seen that parent-on-parent tackle in real life!

I’d have a much longer lists for those that are ridiculous (Highlight: Gossip Girl’s Lily and Rufus), but thinking of all those could take all day.

What are your favorite onscreen pairings?

Comments
7 Responses to “Best TV marriages”
  1. writerdood says:

    Ward and Joan Cleaver.

    • H says:

      I was only considering shows currently on TV, but have a lot of thoughts about older shows. I’d add Roseanne and Dan Conner . . . . and how about the parents from The Wonder Years. . .

      • writerdood says:

        Sorry, I don’t watch sitcoms much anymore. I only remember the ones from when I was a kid. I do remember watching a couple of episodes of Rossanne though, so I would agree with you there. They were a great couple.

  2. Skinny Sushi says:

    I can’t believe I am about to admit to watching this, but I actually think the marriage on Ghost Whisperer is really well done. Believable, relatable, supportive… a lot like our house, except with more hauntings.

  3. Bex says:

    I LOVE LOVE LOVE Christina and Adam! That show is awesome. I also really like the relationship between Amber and Sarah. Lauren Graham is amazing.

  4. itisis says:

    all couples in Everybody Loves Raymond 😉

    • H says:

      I never saw this show, but have heard this from others too. But wasn’t it a bit, “Mom does everything and knows best and Dad bubbles everything up”? This may be realistic for some people, but luckily isn’t for me!

Leave a Reply

