does it matter?

a recent NY Times article, read it in full here, raises a discussion point on the matter of women in the workplace.  specifically, women on the supreme court.  if elena kagan is in fact confirmed during the senate hearings, this will be the first time there are three women on the supreme court at once. 

the thing is, only one of these women has children, while their male counterparts *all* have children.  so while i am excited at the prospect of three sitting female judges, the article does raise a good point. is it really progress? enough progress?

i am very fortunate to be able to stay at home with my 3 children. realistically, looking back on the demands of having 2 premature babies who require so much additional attention, i am fairly confident i could not have juggled a career at the same time.  when i look back on the days of working and parenting just one child simultaneously, i often felt like i was putting off one thing in place of another.

but shouldn’t women be allowed to have it all? the stellar career, the lofty aspirations, along with the kids and picket fence? is there a balance to be achieved while having it all? or does one facet of your life automatically take a back seat while the other requires more focus? wouldn’t it be fantastic if the women on the supreme court had families as well so our daughters could have some fantastic role models to look at and see that they really can have it all?

what do you think?

Nicole

Comments
2 Responses to “does it matter?”
  1. Skinny Sushi says:

    I am reluctant to say this, but I’m not sure it matters (to me.) I guess I feel like whether or not a woman has kids doesn’t change her value as a role model for me or my daughter. In the end, some people always feel like they are juggling work and home and others just don’t… sort of like was discussed in the “I don’t juggle” post. For me, in terms of my daughter, I just want her to have people she looks up to, men and women, whose attributes she can choose to model. Whether or not she has/wants children is too personal a choice. That being said, I would love for her to want and have children, because I love the idea that she will have the same joy that she gives me… but I don’t think that role models having or not having kids will change her mind about whether she wants them.

    This is probably rambling nonsense. I am not yet caffeinated.

  2. H says:

    I think the problem is highly successful men often have wives, but highly successful women do not (they tend to marry ambitious men). If your job truly is 24/7, yes, you need someone at home to make a family work. Luckily, for most of us, there is significantly more wiggle room.

    I don’t mind kids seeing that to be a Supreme Court justice someone will need to make sacrifices. They should understand that some careers come with more work and time investment than others. But I do hope that over time, it becomes more acceptable for men to play the supporting role. After all, men do not have the monopoly on dreaming big, and women do not have it on wanting to be the person behind their spouse’s, and their family’s, success.

Leave a Reply

