Friday confession: I don’t like girls

women talkingsource

I don’t have a lot of friends… mostly because adult friendships with men are too complicated (very few are guaranteed to be free of the complications involved… either someone is attracted to someone else, or the guy’s significant other is bothered) and… well… I don’t like women.

I have some great friends.  Amazing, strong, smart women who I adore.  People I know I could trust with my life, and who I also trust with my heart and soul.  Women who are my soul sisters, women who think like me.

But most women?  We just don’t click.  One of the biggest reasons why is that I tend to alienate myself in the very first meeting.  When I meet a new woman it’s almost always in a group situation.  When women get together, they do one of two things.

#1 – they talk about their kids.  This tends to get me alienated because I am the terrifying pariah, the woman whose child didn’t make it.  There is nothing that dries up the conversation faster in most circles.  The only thing worse?

#2 – they complain about their husbands.  This bothers me to no end.  First of all, if half of these guys are as bad as the women make them out to be, GET A DIVORCE.  Honestly, though, I don’t think things are that bad.  I think it’s just a… thing.  Women get together and want to gripe.  The bigger issue, however, is that I genuinely have nothing to add.  Sure, sometimes my husband bugs me a little bit, but I genuinely have zero gripe with him.

He does most of the cleaning.  He takes care of the yardwork.  He goes to work every day so that I can stay home with our daughter.  He is a fantastic father, and he is supportive of even my most outlandish ideas.  He is everything I could ask for in a husband.  He doesn’t make messes, he doesn’t drink, he doesn’t watch sports…  Not that there is anything wrong with any of these things, but they tend to be the big gripes.

When women get going and I have nothing to add… I either stay silent and then basically become invisible, or I actually have to speak up and say that I happen to like my husband quite a bit and have nothing to complain about.  That usually leads to a lot of awkward backpedaling as all of the other women suddenly feel guilty or something, and then everyone looks at me strangely.

So it’s easier just to stay away from groups of women.  But really?  I am thirty years old.  Why am I still having to avoid gatherings of women because I like the man I chose to marry?  Why has it become not only socially acceptable but expected for women to sit around and act like they are bearing such a terrible burden by putting up with their husbands?  Especially when I think most of them probably like their husbands pretty well most days.

Why do we do it?  Why can’t we get together and talk about positive things?  Come on over.  I’ll provide the wine, you bring the snacks, and we’ll chat about fantastic shoes, the perils of motherhood, how to find a new hairdresser, what the latest stock quotes mean, and whether or not the latest NBA draft is worth a notice.  Anything at all, except complaints.

Skinny Sushi signature

Comments
7 Responses to “Friday confession: I don’t like girls”
  1. Hailerstar says:

    I agree with you that the man complaining gets annoying. I mean there are women out there that DO have legitimate things to complain about (but unless he’s abusive or cheats on you then I don’t really feel like you have a right to say anything because as our husbands may have little quirks that irk us, as wives, I’m sure we have lil quirks that irk them too).
    Here’s to positivity and more of it at gatherings!

  2. Bex says:

    hehehe. I ❤ you. And I don't like girls either!

  3. Im not married nor do i have kids but i completely understand what you mean!

    I generally find that anytime i’m around a group of girls, the majority of the time they sit and talk about other people’s gossip and its incredibly annoying.

    And when your friends with a guy, there always will be, at some point, a complication!

    Lovely post!

    S
    xxx

  4. izziedarling says:

    With you 100%. Good post.

  5. I surround myself by about four like-minded women and avoid the rest but for very different reasons to those listed by you.

    I don’t seem to find myself confronted by baby talk or husband slander, but this must because I’ve done neither yet.

  6. Kari says:

    Agree!

Leave a Reply

