Redecorating the nursery

Before you get started on this post, please go leave a comment on my giveaway.  A comment will enter you to win a hilarious calendar from a great friend in Italy.

Sheep themeThis is (sort of) what my daughter’s room looks like right now.  She’s got a sheep theme.  The dressers and crib are flat against the side walls, there is a tiny sheep rug, and the back dresser has a basket with her toys on it.  There are also small black shelves on the right wall with books and toys and a shelf on the right back wall with a big black stuffed sheep and a small gray one.  I love her sheep stuff, but I’m starting to think about how I could redecorate the room sometime soon.  Here are some things I came up with while playing on Scrapblog.

Park themeHere’s a park/spring sort of theme that would allow me to include some vintagey looking owls, which I love.  There are some great bedding options too, like this one.  In the end though, and no one who knows me will be surprised here, this last one is my absolute favorite.

Travel themeI especially love the quote, which says “Go where you’ve never been.  You never know where it may lead you.”  Plus it would give me a chance to incorporate some of MY favorite things from Rome & Greece.

So, I’d like your thoughts.  What works?  What doesn’t?  What could make either design better?  Is the last one kid friendly enough?  My hope was to find something she could have fun with, but that would still be cool when she got a little older so I don’t have to redecorate her room every few years.

Skinny Sushi signature

What else I’m up to:

Why I Failed – discovering why I used to sabotage my diets, and how I stopped

Dealing with Stress

How to Read a French Wine Label

Comments
4 Responses to “Redecorating the nursery”
  1. Jess says:

    I LOVE the last one! It’s tempting to do really young and cute themes with their rooms, but like you said, at the end of the day you don’t want to be redecorating every few years, especially when it’s something you’re putting this much time and effort into. You could do your theme through permanent fixtures and use more temporary pieces (bedding, bed nets, etc…) to update the room periodically for age appropriateness. Nothing against princesses and fairy tales, but there are some pretty amazing and inspiring things out there in real life. Are we really ever too young to learn that?

    • Skinny Sushi says:

      So cool, I was hoping to hear this! I was thinking of doing something simple for the landmarks, like printing on contact paper or something so they could be big but still cheap… then doing shadowboxes of world stamps/currency/coins and whatever cool things I have from my trips abroad. For bedding and such, I was thinking we’d just stick to solid colors or simple patterns that could go with anything.

      You are so right. It’s never too soon for her to know how cool the world is.

  2. The only thing I would consider, is what the shapes of these things look like at night. Both are interesting, but the owl eyes could be questionable at night, and the large buildings could be overwhelming in the darker atmosphere as well. A child mostly enjoyes looking at the faces of their parents at that age, so a nice solid wall color, and some beautiful framed photographs of the child with the parents might please the child most. Just a thought, I dont mean to spoil the decorating, but just plan the decorationg throught the eyes of the child above all. Every other room in the place is yours, but the child’s room is theirs, and not to mention where they happen to be alone in for a period of time at night. Peace, comfort, security. Hope this helps. 🙂

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] Redecorating the Nursery – exploring options to redesign Evi’s room […]



Leave a Reply

